Brazil, a vast and diverse country, is known for its territorial expanse and rich cultural variety. One of the administrative divisions of the country is the states, which play a crucial role in regional governance. Currently, Brazil is composed of 26 states and the Federal District, totaling 27 federative units. Each state has its own political and administrative autonomy, with governors elected by the people and their own legislative and executive powers.

How many states are there in Brazil today?
Image: Internet

The political division of Brazil into states began during the colonial period when the territory was divided into hereditary captaincies. Over time, the captaincies were unified and gave rise to provinces. After the Republican Coup in 1889, the provinces were transformed into states. The Brazilian states are distributed across the country’s five regions: North, Northeast, Midwest, Southeast, and South. Each region has distinct geographic, climatic, and cultural characteristics, which contribute to the diversity of Brazil as a whole.

North Region

The North Region is composed of seven states: Amazonas, Pará, Roraima, Amapá, Tocantins, Rondônia, and Acre. It is the largest region in terms of territorial extension and houses a significant part of the Amazon Rainforest.

Northeast Region

The Northeast Region has nine states: Maranhão, Piauí, Ceará, Rio Grande do Norte, Paraíba, Pernambuco, Alagoas, Sergipe, and Bahia. It is a region characterized by beautiful beaches, a tropical climate, and a rich and diverse culture.

Central-West Region

The Central-West Region is composed of four states: Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Goiás, and the Federal District, where the country’s capital, Brasília, is located. It is a region of great agricultural and livestock importance, in addition to being home to the Pantanal, one of the largest wetland areas in the world.

Southeast Region

The Southeast Region has four states: Minas Gerais, São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, and Espírito Santo. It is the most populous and industrialized region in Brazil, with important economic centers such as the city of São Paulo.

South Region

The South Region is composed of three states: Paraná, Santa Catarina, and Rio Grande do Sul. It is known for its stunning natural landscapes, milder climate, and for being a region with a significant influence of European immigration.

How many states are there in Brazil today?
Green: North | Orange: Northeast | Yellow: Midwest | Gray: Southeast | Blue: South

The states are a fundamental part of Brazil’s political and administrative structure. With 26 federative units and one Federal District, they are responsible for governing and managing their respective regions, while contributing to the cultural and geographical diversity of the country. Each state has its distinct characteristics and plays an important role in the nation’s development and identity.

Matheus Araújo - Brazilian History
Matheus Araújo
Founder and Editor at Brazilian History | Website

Matheus is an entrepreneur at Araujo Media, where he serves as CEO and Creative Director. He shares analyses on his personal blog "" and is currently pursuing a degree in Advertising and Propaganda. Moreover, he has a passion for history, particularly that of Brazil, which led him to become the founder and editor of the Brazilian History portal.